Sigmund Freud’s Oral Stage Length of Breastfeeding in Infants

Download .pdf, .docx, .epub, .txt
Did you like this example?

According to the Merriam Webster Dictionary, an infant is a child between the age of zero to one.  These infants are categorized by a series of physical, social, cognitive, and language developments. Physical developments begin with the ability to see objects from ten inches away. Then, as the child reaches four months of age they begin to have more control over their nervous system and muscle function, including holding their head upright and grasping objects such as someone’s finger. Moreover, as they reach six months of age they are able to sit without support, roll over towards their stomachs, and crawl. From about six months to a year, they begin to hold a spoon on their own, throw objects, and start the movements of walking. In addition, there are a variety of social developments the child undergoes throughout their first year of life. Such developments include the establishment of relationships with their parents and others, the ability to express and experience emotions, as well as responding to familiar sounds and voices. Furthermore, infants develop cognitively by babbling, exploring things with their mouth, and by twelve months speaking their first understandable words. Lastly, their language develops rapidly. At first, they begin to use different notices to signal hunger or pain. Then, by four months, they begin to make vowel sounds which leads to jargon and laughs. When they reach a year, they respond to simple verbal commands such as no (“Ages and Stages” 2018). Sigmund Freud is a renowned neurologist and the founder of psychoanalysis. Psychoanalysis is the conjunction of a system of psychological theories and therapy that work together to treat mental disorders. Freud’s theory encompasses five stages of which include the oral stage, anal stage, phallic stage, latency stage, and the genital stage.  The oral stage is the first stage and it begins from birth to about 18 months and deals with the stimulation of the mouth.  Furthermore, the anal stage begins at 18 months and ends at 4 years of age and includes stimulation of the anus, such as toilet training. Next, is the phallic stage, which starts at age four and lasts until ages 6 to 7, this phase focuses on pleasure received from the genitals. Moreover, latency begins from the age of seven until twelve years of age and involves the shift from physical activities to intellectual ones. Lastly, is the genital stage that lasts from twelve years of age to adulthood, and includes developing sexual relationships and more stimulation of the genitals. (Mcleod, Saul. “Psychosexual Stages”5 Feb. 2017). However, the stage that we will be discussing is the oral stage. During this stage, the mouth is the part of the body that receives the most stimulation by engaging in the sucking and rooting reflexes. Freud discussed that fixation, becoming stuck on a certain stage, can occur at any stage; however, if a child becomes fixated during the oral stage it can lead to a prolonged period of breastfeeding or nail-biting. Fixation can occur because of a lack of stimulation,

Do you want to see the Full Version?

View full version

Having doubts about how to write your paper correctly?

Our editors will help you fix any mistakes and get an A+!

Get started
Leave your email and we will send a sample to you.
Thank you!

We will send an essay sample to you in 2 Hours. If you need help faster you can always use our custom writing service.

Get help with my paper
Sorry, but copying text is forbidden on this website. You can leave an email and we will send it to you.